Placeholder Picture

Tel: 07922-126154

2019 Beginners Fly Fishing Course Dates and AW Boat Handling Course Dates available now ...   scroll down this page for more information on each waters course dates ...


Game - Beginners Fly Fishing and Improvers Days 2019

Placeholder Picture

If you want to start fly fishing or are already on your way, our fly fishing courses will help you get to grips with the basics. The courses are run throughout the year, on weekdays and at weekends.

Experienced and qualified Angling Trust instructors offer a full day’s tuition and cover the skills and tactics which the beginner needs to learn. 

All equipment and licences are provided. If you have your own tackle, please bring it. We can assess its suitability for reservoir fishing. We will discuss, demonstrate and teach you:

Tying knots and leaders
Casting
Fly selection and Fly-tying
Tackle selection
Basic fishing techniques

We will cover all this in the morning and spend the afternoon putting your newly acquired knowledge into practise. The cost including refreshments and a light lunch is £88.00 for an adult, £67 for juniors (14 to 17 years). Find a suitable date and then book a course by calling the fishing lodge at your chosen venue. There will be a maximum of six students on any course. On completing the course you will be entitled to buy a Starter Season Permit – an offer only available to our students. The cost for the AW Boat Tuition course is £52.00, based on two anglers sharing the boat. To see more about AW Boat Tuition, please click here.

The courses will be available at Rutland, Grafham and Pitsford waters, with the day starting at 10.00am. To book on one of these very popular courses, please call the fishing lodge of your preferred venue, Rutland Water on 01780 686441 or Grafham Water on 01480 810531 or Pitsford on 01604 781350.

The courses we run at ELINOR trout fisheryand MANOR FARM fisheryare based on exactly the same syllabus with all tackle being provided. To find out which dates are being held at the relevant waters, please scroll down the page for all course dates on the waters concerned.


Rutland Water

Placeholder Picture

March 2019
Sunday 10th March
Thursday 14th March
Saturday 23rd March
Thursday 28th March

April 2019
Sunday 7th April
Sunday 14th April
Saturday 20th April
Thursday 25th April
Monday 29th April - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 27th April

May 2019

Tuesday 14th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Thursday 16th May
Saturday 25th May
Wednesday 29th May
Thursday 30th May - (Boat Handling Course)

June 2019
Wednesday 5th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 7th June
Monday 10th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 16th June
Monday 17th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Monday 24th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 29th June.

July 2019
Tuesday 2nd July
Friday 5th July - (Boat Handling Course)
Tuesday 9th July - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 14th July
Saturday 20th July

August
Sunday 4th August
Thursday 8th August - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 10th August
Sunday 25th August
Sunday 31st August

September
Tuesday 3rd September - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 8th September
Saturday 14th September
Sunday 22nd September
Tuesday 24th September

October
Friday 4th October
Sunday 13th October
Wednesday 16th October - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 18th October
Monday 21st October - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 26th October
Wednesday 30th October - (Boat Handling Course)

November
Saturday 2nd November
Monday 4th November - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 10th November

December
Sunday 8th December

January
Saturday 4th January

Placeholder Picture

Grafham Water

Placeholder Picture

February 2019
Sunday 24th February

March 2019
Saturday 2nd march
Wednesday 6th march
Sunday 17th march
Friday 22nd march

April 2019
Tuesday 30th April
Saturday 6th April
Thursday 11th April
Friday 19th April
Tuesday 23rd April
Tuesday 30th April - (Boat Handling Course)

May 2019
Sunday 5th May
Monday 13th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 19th May
Sunday 26th May
Monday 27th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 31st May

June 2019
Tuesday 4th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Thursday 6th June
Tuesday 11th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 15th June
Sunday 23rd June
Sunday 30th June

July 2019
Tuesday 2nd July - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 6th July
Friday 19th July
Wednesday 24th July - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 28th July

August 2019
Saturday 3rd August
Tuesday 6th August - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 9th August
Saturday 24th August
Friday 30th August

September 2019
Monday 2nd September - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 15th September
Friday 20th September
Wednesday 25th September

October 2019
Sunday 6th October
Saturday 12th October
Monday 14th October - (Boat Handling Course)
Tuesday 22nd October - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 27th October
Tuesday 29th October - (Boat Handling Course)

November 2019
Friday 1st November
Tuesday 5th November - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 9th November

December 2019
Saturday 7th December

January 2019
Sunday 5th January




Placeholder Picture

Pitsford Water

Placeholder Picture

February 2019
Saturday 23rd February
Thursday 28th February

March 2019
Sunday 3rd March
Saturday 16th March
Sunday 24th March
Saturday 30th March

April 2019
Wednesday 3rd April
Tuesday 16th April

May 2019
Wednesday 1st May - (Boat Handling Course)
Thursday 2nd May
Wednesday 15th May - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 18th May
Tuesday 28th May - (Boat Handling Course)

June 2019
Sunday 9th June
Friday 14th June
Tuesday 18th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 22nd June
Tuesday 25th June - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 28th June

July 2019
Monday 1st July - (Boat Handling Course)
Friday 12th July
Sunday 21st July
Tuesday 23rd July - (Boat Handling Course)
Saturday 27th July

August 2019
Wednesday 7th August - (Boat Handling Course)
Sunday 11th August
Friday 23rd August
Thursday 29th August

September 2019
Friday 6th September
Wednesday 11th September
Saturday 21st September

October 2019
Saturday 5th October
Friday 11th October
Tuesday 15th October - (Boat Handling Course)
Wednesday 23rd October - (Boat Handling Course)
Monday 28th October - (Boat Handling Course)

Placeholder Picture

Elinor Trout Fishery

Placeholder Picture

This fishery provides for anglers of all levels of ability. Novices have a good chance of catching with the high stock levels whereas experienced anglers return each year for the excellent imitative fishing and the chance to target grown on fish.. One and a half miles of accessible bank fishing means there is plenty of space without being too large and daunting.

An extensive weed cutting programme keeps the banks fishable all year. Dates for courses at ELINOR are given separately. The syllabus is the same for the other fisheries. All tackle, flies, lines, nets etc are supplied. Lunch is at the local hostelry and is included in the price which is £60. To book a place call the fishery on 01832 720786.

ELINOR fishery, Lowick Road, Aldwincle, Kettering. Northants NN14 3EE. www.elinortf.co.uk or ElinorTF@aol.com

2019 Season Course Dates to be Conformed


Placeholder Picture

Manor Farm Fishery

This fishery also provides for anglers of all levels of ability. Novices have a good chance of catching their first fish, and the lake, which is five acres, has very few casting obstructions on the banks. The lake has excellent fly hatches, particularly damsel flies, and a plentiful supply of fry. Stocking is every ten days throughout the main season with trout from 1lb 8oz to 17lb. The fishery also has a number of coarse lakes and an excellent tackle shop where all tackle, including flies, can be purchased.

Dates for MANOR FARM are given separately. The syllabus is the same as for the other fisheries.

All tackle, flies lines, nets etc are supplied. Lunch is on site and is included in the price which is: Adults £75, Juniors £50. To book a place call the fishery on 01767 317835.
MANOR FARM FISHERY, Lower Caldecote, Biggleswade, Bedfordshire. SG18 9BB.

www.manorfarmfishing.com   |  sue@manorfarmfishing.com   2019 Season Course Dates & Prices to be Conformed